Stand-Alone

The Lost Sister

Genre: Historical Fiction, Women’s Fiction

Three sisters. Three ships. One heartbreaking story.

1911. As Emma packs her trunk to join the ocean liner Olympic as a stewardess, she dreams of earning enough to provide a better life for both her sisters. With their photograph tucked away in her luggage, she promises to be back soon – hoping that sickly Lily will keep healthy, and wild Ruby will behave. But neither life at sea nor on land is predictable, and soon the three sisters’ lives are all changed irrevocably…

Now. When Harriet finds her late grandmother’s travelling trunk in the attic, she’s shocked to discover a photo of three sisters inside – her grandmother only ever mentioned one sister, who died tragically young. Who is the other sister, and what happened to her? Harriet’s questions lead her to the story of three sister ships, Olympic, Titanic and Britannic, and a shattering revelation about three sisters torn apart…

Don’t miss the latest novel from the USA Today bestselling author of The Secret of the Chateau. Perfect for fans of The Beekeeper’s Promise and The Forgotten Village!

Kindle Edition

298 pages

Published May 12th 2021

(HQ Digital)

Warning: There is mention of Childhood Leukemia, Shipwrecks and Adultery if you or anyone you know has been affected by these issues PLEASE SEEK HELP FROM PROFESSIONALS…

First Impression

The Lost Sister is set in the 3rd person. The viewpoints of both Harriet and Emma are given.

The reader finds themselves in the modern world of 2019, with an introduction to 70 year old Harriet, as she strolls from room to room of her home shared with her late husband, John. Harriet is wanting to downsize to a smaller home and plans to tackle the task with one room at a time…

Harriet plans to start with sorting through forty years’ worth of memories the attic. Harriet is joined by her own daughter, Sally. The two catch up, before beginning with some boxes labeled as “old stuff” that upon looking she realises belonged to her grandmother…

I am looking forward to reading The Lost Sister and cannot wait to see what happens…

Rating: 4 out of 4.

The Lost Sister is a detailed medium paced story that is easy to follow and well written. The plot is a powerful and emotional rollercoaster and quickly sweeps you along in the compelling and enjoyable journey of The Lost Sister

I like how McGurl has created an interesting plot by similar dynamics between both timelines. McGurl has researched the subject matter well, especially when it comes to the events that took place on RMS Titanic. McGurl explains in the author’s notes how she used the memoir of Violet Jessop, a known survivor of the Titanic and also sailed on the sister ships, RMS Olympic and HMHS Britannic, just like Emma…

The character development of The Lost Sister is very good. The characters are likeable, relatable and very realistic. I really enjoyed reading about Emma’s experiences. I also enjoyed reading Harriet’s point of view, where she looks into her family past and I have a deep sense of empathy towards Harriet’s grandson, 6 year old Jerome who is combating Leukemia

I would recommend reading The Lost Sister to lovers of Historical and Women’s Fiction, as it is a captivating and engaging story of coming together on a time of need. The story is moving with sadness and joy…You won’t want to put it down!

I look forward to reading more novels by Kathleen McGurl and will be keeping my eyes open for any future books….

One thought on “The Lost Sister

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s